The Balm – Meet Matt(e) Hughes Liquid Lipsticks Review

Hi loveys! Hope you’re all well!

Today I will be reviewing some liquid lipsticks from The Balm Cosmetics. Here’s the description from their website.

Introducing a truly loyal long-lasting liquid lipstick—Meet Matt(e) Hughes. With twelve dreamy shades to choose from, you can take your pick from this hopelessly devoted collection. This long-wearing formula has a comfortable matte finish with no commitment issues. These matte vanilla mint liquid lipsticks are stuck on you without feeling clingy! – thebalm.com

I have seven shades in total. First I got a full sized one in the shade Trustworthy for £13.50 (retail price is £15 but I bought it when Debenhams had 10% off beauty) and then I picked up a set of six. Okay guys, I bagged a serious bargain with these minis! So, the minis’ set retails for £25 in Debenhams. I already had a £10 gift card and I also had £5 worth of points on my Debenhams beauty card. Sooo… I got this set for just £10! I was dead chuffed lol such a bargain! *happy dance*.. Okay, lets get straight into the review.

image3

Packaging

The full size contains 7.4ml (0.25 fl oz) and the mini contains 1.2ml (0.04 fl oz). There is a huge difference between them! I’ve added a photo below where you can see the size difference. I quite like the packaging, the full sized one has a photo of a couple, very retro and vintage looking. All of their packaging has a 50’s theme going on which I find really cute! The minis’ are very travel friendly, perfect to just pop into your handbag whenever you’re on the go.

image2

Scent

I wasn’t going to add this subsection but I just had to let you all know how amazing these smell! The scent reminds me a lot of mint chocolate chip ice cream. Even Aero mint chocolate. And I love mint and chocolate so it’s a huge plus for me! I could just sit there smelling the wand all day lol but the scent does fade quickly after its’ been applied to the lips. Also, it feels a little tingly upon application.

Formula

The formula of these lippies are amaaaazing, definitely one of the best I’ve tried! The formula is almost a whipped like texture, really soft and pigmented. They’re very comfortable on the lips and they dry matte without leaving the horrible drying feel on the lips. Once applied, it does feel a little bit tacky for a few minutes. If you press your lips together, they’ll feel a tad sticky but after a few minutes, it will dry completely matte and they feel sooo comfortable. 

Longevity

I’d say the staying power is about 6-8 hours without reapplying. They don’t budge once they’ve been applied onto the lips, they’re transfer proof and they don’t feather or become patchy afterwards.

Overall

These are by far one of my favourite liquid lipsticks! I’d definitely recommend them to everyone. I’m soo impressed with these, I just want every shade now lol. If you like liquid lipsticks, you need to try these! Below are some little heart swatches of the minis (I was feeling creative).

From left to right: Charming, Sincere, Committed, Doting, Dedicated, Loyal.


And finally, Trustworthy. 

Thankyou for reading!

Follow me on instagram – @tazzieblogs

Tx

 

6 comments

Leave a comment